introductions to DCL

25 Sep

Motive is the central element of the Divine Centered Leadership Model. Please describe what motivates you to volunteer as a leader in BYUSA.
I have never been entirely sure exactly why I came into this office in the first place. I think my motive has changed over the last year. Originally, I was excited about the new opportunity, and then I felt an obligation to accept a leadership position, and now I am much more concerned with being a Christlike leader and providing those opportunities to other people. Anyone else could do the business elements of my job, but this role is an opportunity to see other people through Christ’s eyes, and that is something I want to take advantage of. I am finally finding that I am motivated to serve people, not to do work. With that as my central desire, I have become much better at delegating, teaching, and understanding. It’s easier to love people when you want the best for them.

“Each of us might well ask, ‘In what ways am I shrinking or holding back?’ Meek introspection may yield some bold insights! For example, we can tell much by what we have already willingly discarded along the pathway of discipleship.” Describe how you can use this question to help you improve as a leader in terms of the concept of challenging unrighteousness.
I am far too personally concerned with how other people will take criticism. I can’t handle other people being upset with me. As a leader, this causes problems when it is my responsibility to guide people in a direction that they may not like. I have spent a lot of time shrinking and holding back when it came to dealing with conflict.
I decided a few months ago that I could skirt conflict by handing it off to other people or dancing around it. I decided it wasn’t an important skill for me to learn, but I’ve realized that there are few things that are more important. Conflict isn’t just about dealing with problems. It is about learning to love people unconditionally.
In the future, I will further analyze the things that I have decided aren’t important. Usually, they are just things I didn’t want to deal with, but they are worth learning. Challenging unrighteousness is about being a courageous leader, being willing to accept and defend what is right and good and true. If I’m not willing to do that at least with myself, there is no way I will be able to continue being an effective leader or improve or learn anything from this experience.

Describe an experience where you have had to make a sacrifice in a leadership role. How did this experience help you improve as a leader?
I have had to sacrifice a lot of ease and comfort. Elder D. Todd Christofferson gave a talk called “Reflections on a Consecrated Life” and in it he said something that I think about almost every day: “God has designed this mortal existence to require nearly constant exertion.” Life is not meant to be comfortable, and I have gotten by far too long being at ease and not being challenged. At the beginning of the summer when I started finding all sorts of things I needed to change and improve about myself, I was confused because I figured that it had worked for me for over 20 years, so why should I change now? But change requires ultimate sacrifice of the self. In order to get along with others, I have to sacrifice the things that I am comfortable doing. I have to stop thinking about myself and step outside of my comfort zone in order to reach out to others.
This sacrifice has absolutely helped me improve as a leader because I have had to do things I’ve never done before. It’s made all the difference, and has made me much more open to taking on new challenges. It’s allowed me to accept my responsibilities and duties and to want to do them well. Most of all, it’s allowed me to develop stronger relationships with the people I work with and truly come to love them.

Leave a Reply

