empowerment

5 Aug

I chose very personal goals, because I figured that this was the best way that I could make a difference one day at a time.

1. Identify one specific action item you will implement to improve the five core dimensions of empowerment for BYUSA & Communications.
Self-efficacy (competence): I will know everything about BYUSA Advertising and be able to answer every question or know where to find the answer. I will do my job the absolute best that I can.
Self-determination (choice): I will choose each day to have a positive attitude, no matter what is going on.
Personal consequence (impact): I will serve one person every day.
Meaningfulness (value): I will create an environment of growth and improvement and effectiveness and faith.
Trust (security): I will complete all assignments on time/early.

2. Develop a methodology or tool that will help you measure your success in each of those action items, explain what it is and how/when you will follow up on your progress with your coordinator and team.
Self-efficacy (competence): I will count how many times I have to say “I don’t know” each week. I will make it a priority to find answers to questions I do not know within 24 hours.
Self-determination (choice): I will be happy and strive to uplift those around me. I will make OTHERS a priority. I will always believe in myself and what I am doing and why I am here.
Personal consequence (impact): At the beginning of each day, and throughout the day, I will pray to know who I can help. I will look for opportunities to improve someone’s day. I will especially look for those who seem like they could use a helping hand or a friendly smile.
Meaningfulness (value): In every meeting, I will be positive and efficient. I will strive to keep the Spirit in the room at all times. I will encourage questions and challenges and collaboration and ideas.
Trust (security): I will submit all blog posts before they are due. I will complete a list of assignments each day to ensure that all deadlines are being met. I will use Basecamp to check on the progress of every project to make sure that my ACs are not having a hard time. If they are, I will work with them to bring everyone back up to speed.

Following up with all of these goals will be important because they will take time and patience on my end, which is not guaranteed by any stretch of the imagination. Haha. I want to check in at each stewardship to ensure that I am meeting these, but I think I can most effectively gauge my progress by evaluating my relationship with each person in my area. If I can constantly work happily and effectively with them, then I know that I am doing all that I can to maintain a positive environment.

Leave a Reply

