branding

25 Jul

Why is it important to have consistent branding in BYUSA?
This is hard to put in words. As a “company” BYUSA is recognized as a singular institution. If we were to put out conflicting (or even differing) images or messages, it essentially rips BYUSA in half and it is less unified. It is absolutely critical that our audience understands not only who we are, but also how we function, which is as one unit. The power of association is not to be underestimated, but rather fueled by effective and consistent branding.
This is a major reason that my position exists this year. One reason that advertising is being funneled through a single source is to create a consistent image, so that there is at least some strain of familiarity through every piece of advertising that comes out of our office.

Read the marketing & style guide and write about 2 things you learned:
Style requirements: The BYUSA logo is very specifically designed and managed. By putting the BYUSA footer at the bottom of everything, people can identify BYUSA-sponsored programs and events. Tablecloths and pop-up banners are also part of the branding.
Top 10 brainstorming ideas: I absolutely love this piece of paper. It taught me a lot about the power of group brainstorming and I started considering more ways we can implement brainstorming sessions among the ACs. I want them to work together to create bigger and better ideas, to help each other when they get stuck, and to bring more creativity to the table. As I reflected on previous brainstorming sessions that I’ve had at BYUSA, those are some of the funniest meetings and those are the times I remember having the most fun with the fabulous people I get to work with every day. I want to do all that I can to make that a part of the BYUSA experience for my ACs as well, that they remember to have fun with everything they do.
Side note: I’m obsessed with the resources in this binder. It’s amazing. Cover your campus & banner frame locations & creative advertising ideas & forms. I’m in love.

2 Responses to “branding”

  1. Tamara Gray July 25, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    I am so glad it is useful! I worked really hard on it, so I am glad that someone thinks it is worthwhile!

  2. cierrabrooke July 26, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    Go Karen!

    I still have my BYUSA alerts and your blog popped up. Maintaining BYUSA’s brand is crucial to helping the rest of campus understand who we are and what we do. I’m so glad you’re sticking up for the brand that I love so much.

Leave a Reply

