motives in zion

21 Jul

Why do you volunteer?
This morning I got a call from my mom. She told me that a 14-year-old girl from my home ward was at BYU at EFY for the first time ever, and she had just been dropped off, didn’t know anyone here, and when she got to her dorm room, she found that she didn’t have a roommate. She called her mom in tears because she was so overwhelmed and didn’t know what to do for 2 hours by herself. I called her and asked if she wanted to go out to lunch. I picked her up and we went to the Creamery and got some ice cream and talked for an hour. I told her how she could get a roommate if she wanted one, that she just needed to tell her counselor and they could work something out. I dropped her back off to go meet her counselor and she told me that she was really excited for the week and that she did really want a roommate. It cost me $7 and an hour of my time, but hopefully I was able to help her when she needed someone.
I was where I needed to be and doing what I was supposed to do when I was called to help someone.
It is such a priceless feeling to be able to do something for another person that might help them, even when there’s nothing in it for yourself. Selfless service is the purest, most perfect form of love in action. I can’t even think of a time when I have walked away from volunteering anywhere feeling bad about it. I volunteer because I can’t learn the same things or get the same experiences from reading a book about how great it is to serve…I have to get out there and do it myself. I want to do what I can to help other people when they need help, especially because I know I would want someone to help me when I needed it.

In what ways do you contribute to the culture of the office?
What can you do individually to make our BYU community a Zion community?

I hope I can contribute to the culture of the office by actively participating, and by serving everyone all the time. I want to really be involved in every aspect of this experience. I’m not just here for the results, I’m here for the experience, and I think that’s already a huge part of the culture here. It’s an amazing place where it’s okay to be happy and help each other and learn from each other.
Making BYU a Zion community has been a work in progress since 1875. I think the best thing I can do to continue progressing towards that is to uphold everything that this university stands for. I can’t just sit on the sidelines. It’s a constant exertion of energy that is not just about avoiding the bad, but actively seeking the good. I can take the piece of Zion that I have found here at BYU and take it with me and spread it when I leave, but individually, I cannot make BYU a Zion community in four years. I can only do my best to keep it as good as it has been for almost 150 years, if not better, and for me, BYUSA is the greatest medium for that goal.

Leave a Reply

