professionalism

20 Jul

Describe a time when you have experienced professionalism.
I work in the ASB, and our theme is “Bee One.” I work in the basement and there is a sign on the door that says “Employees Only.” I sit in front of a computer for 4 hours at a time. All of these things mean that I don’t ever deal with students (customers), but because I work in the ASB, and the goal of the entire building is to be unified, our office sacrificed our jeans and t-shirt uniform and conformed to the business casual attire that the rest of the building worked by. I come into work, change into slacks for my shift, and change back into jeans when I leave, and most of the time it wouldn’t ever make a difference because I don’t see a single person during my shift. However, if someone were to ever see me, or on those rare days where I have to surface to the first floor to get a signature, it makes a huge difference. It also affects the way I interact with others if I am dressed professionally.

How does professionalism create credibility?
Professionalism is a standard that creates credibility because it requires sacrifice, and if clients or customers see that the company is willing to make that sacrifice in order to uphold a standard for the benefit of the client, a trust can be established. Specific elements of professionalism, such as dress, language, response to criticism, respect and attention to detail make all the difference. It can be tricky sometimes because often it seems like if it’s there, no one notices it, but if it’s not there, it can automatically be a negative experience. It makes it difficult because it feels like all efforts to be professional go unnoticed, but the standard is established because it is easier to build trust and credibility when you do so in a manner that allows the customer to believe that you will follow through with that standard.

Describe unique protocol you have learned or experienced.

I know everyone is probably so sick of hearing about it, but it fits perfectly so I’m going to use it anyway. At EFY, there are a lot of little rules and nit-picky details that we needed to follow to constantly be “above reproach.” When we got back to the dorms each night, I had to count each girl in her room to make sure that everyone was accounted for and in the right place, and then I had to text it to my building counselor. Reporting back to the building counselors was so critical, but nothing would really happen if you didn’t do it. All of the protocol at EFY was designed to keep the participants safe, and to keep the counselors safe and hold us accountable. I actually really came to appreciate it because I knew that everything we were doing was worth the detailed reports and the late night one-word texts that required no response. Modesty was also a huge issue…EFY standards are different than Church standards, and so it created some problems for girls who would complain that they frequently wore a shirt to church and it was never a problem, so why couldn’t they wear it at EFY? But despite all of the times I had to make my girls change or we had to tell a boy to pull his pants up, and all of the embarrassment it caused, it was worth it to know that everyone was held to the same standard, and that that standard was maintained very well. It definitely increased my confidence in the program and my job and made me appreciate my position a lot more. I took it more seriously and did all that I could to uphold the protocol that had been established.

Leave a Reply

